Overview of the V. DuEMUN Conference – “The RuhrMUN”

17th June- 20th June 2009

Photo: David Benneman

Photo: David Benneman

On this page you will find a quick overview of the most important facts about the 2009 DuEMUN Conference. Please click this link for related blog-posts about the conference and see the sub-pages for additional information.

Scope and Size:

  • 175 delegates representing 117 countries
  • Participants from 28 states


  • Security Council
  • Economic and Social Council
  • General Assembly (reduced)


Awards for the best Chairperson:

  • Sheng Jie, Fudan University Shanghai
  • Aitzaz Rehman Sheikh, Lahore School of Economics

Awards for outstanding Position Papers:

  • Umair Mahmood (General Assembly)
  • Albert Ifeanyi Ugochukwu & Ronald Koelpin (ECOSOC)
  • Tanya Saira George & Emile Mahabub (Security Council)

Awards for outstanding Delegations:

  • Friederike Schneider & Tim Posert (General Assembly)
  • Janina Hasse (ECOSOC)
  • Rik Oppermann & Arne Randt (Security Council)

Guests of Honour:

  • H.E. Ajit Kumar, Consulate General of the Republic of India in Germany
  • Dr. Virginie Aimard, UN University (UNU) Bonn, Section Head ‚SCIENTIA‘
  • Dr. Beate Wagner, Secretary General of the United Nations Association of Germany
  • Dr. Christoph Zöpel, Former Minister of State, Federal Foreign Office
  • Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner, Director, Development Institute/Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer, Director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Memory Research/Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI)/Essen.

Other Documents:

Press Highlights